Video chat with StephC and Beginner’s Sewing in Brisbane

I’m really, really enjoying the Tiramisu 30 Minutes a Day Sewalong.  To be sure, it’s a lot of work, but *this* is why I started making patterns- so I could put my concepts into your hands and we could work together to make pretty clothes.  It’s just so fun!

I’ve been carefully monitoring the flickr stream discussions and the sewalong comments sections because it’s important to me to keep my ears open and tailor the sewalong to your needs and questions.  I’ve been teaching this way for years locally, and now that I’ve mostly filled my technological knowledge gaps, I want to bring my offline teaching concepts online and into your sewing room.  I’ve shown a lot of restraint in my blogging over the past several years, preferring to sew socially online and teach offline, but that’s changing.

I hadn’t planned to make a video for today’s lesson in the sewalong, but after reading some underbust seam troubles in the flickr group and on some blogs, not to mention the emails, I chose to change today’s lesson to show you how to problem solve on a real Tiramisu dress in motion.  I’ll publish those clips in Lesson 5.

Once I’d finished the sewalong clips, I found I had a lot of thoughts to share about body speech and body comparison.  This is not aimed at any particular person, this is me sharing with you a topic that is really close to my heart which underpins everything I’m doing and will do with Cake Patterns.  Brisbane students of mine will recognize parts of this chat, it comes up in almost every class I teach.  I hope you’ll indulge me and lend an ear- and please feel free to share your perspective in the comments below.

I’ve listened to too many women say too many awful things about themselves (sometimes I feel like a body-image confessor of sorts- I think other sewing teachers and fitters will know what I’m talking about).  Lately it’s been coming up in all kinds of other conversations I have- all the time!  Even worse, I’ve been hearing women compare themselves to other women unfavorably.  Stoppit!  It’s not useful!  Collaborate, don’t compare!

(I’d been taping and sewing and trying on a dress all afternoon in the very warm livingroom, so do forgive the state of my hair! )  This is not the first time I’ve discussed body speech and sewing, but these are perhaps the strongest words I’ve used.

From Zilch to Zips Beginner's Sewing | Voodoo Rabbit | StephC

Meanwhile, if you live in Brisbane and you’d like to work with me to build a solid foundation in basic sewing, I’m pleased to announce a 5 week beginners class I’ll be teaching at Voodoo Rabbit from the 22nd of this month.  We’re calling it “From Zilch to Zips” because that’s what we’ll do- learn solid sewing techniques from nothing to invisible zipper insertion.

Class Schedule

We’ll make a simple shopping tote on the first night, and discuss fabric shopping for your other two projects- a Blank Canvas Tee (basic knitwear, paper pattern provided in class) and a lovely A-line skirt (wovens, hems, zips!)!  It’s a weekly Tuesday evening class, from 6-9pm beginning on the22 of January.  Space is limited to allow maximum teacher interaction, so do go check out the class listing at Voodoo Rabbit and sign up!

I’m also starting up intermediate classes once again- the “bring your own,” ever changing, open sewing class we used to enjoy so much.  I’ll be announcing the date soon so keep an eye out- it’s a one or two session weekend class.

**Also, I’m teaching an all-day Tiramisu Knit Dress class at Voodoo Rabbit on Sunday the 13th (this Sunday) from 12-5.  If you’d like to join up, I still have a space!  Email me stephc@3hourspast.com


57 comments

  1. Just the other day, I was talking with someone about clothes and how awful ready-to-wear plus-size clothes are, and she was like, “Well I lost 100 pounds and you could too…” I gave her a pretty dirty look and told her, “No. I LIKE my body. The fashion industry doesn’t, though, and I since I can make my own clothes now, they can all suck it.” As Gertie mentioned in one of her blog posts, sewing is about making clothes that fit your body, rather than making your body fit clothes, and making that switch is the most liberating thing about sewing.

    Also, in regards to advertising and the beauty industry, my favorite make-up company is eyeslipsface (or “e.l.f.”). Their products are awesome and chemical-free, and the best part is that they don’t advertise and consequently sell their make-up super cheap (yet it’s pretty quality stuff!). Because they don’t advertise, I feel like they don’t feed into the body image stuff that other make-up companies do.

    • Mary, we’ve already been discussing this topic on your blog, so you know we are on the same page.

      • Haha, yes! This is indeed a topic I have a lot to say on! It’s even worse when you do something competitive like ballroom dancing where all the girls are obsessively thin. I get the last laugh, though, because I’ll have some of the prettiest, most unique dresses this year and if they want a piece of that action, they’ll have to pay me to make stuff for them. Mwahahahaha!!!

        • 1- How rude, someone telling you what to do with your body..! Even my beloved drafting mentor Harriet Pepin indulges in the occasional body snark. I love her but I hate that. There really is no place for judgement in the fitting room, it’s much more effective to be objective… At least, that’s what I find…

          2-Yes. It’s a switch. A switch in thinking. Absolutely.

          3- I’ll go take a look at that cosmetics company.. I’ve been really really impressed with the quality of the OCC and Lime Crime cosmetics I’m trialling lately, they’re vegan and cruelty free, and while they do advertise it’s more like small and viral and weird… :)

          4- I don’t mean to bags on thin ladies, just to bring up an observation… That we’re all different, and yet, so much the same…

          • I try not to bag on thin ladies, but I’ve just gotten so much vitriol over the years from skinny people, whether it’s from magazines or dirty looks from my fellow ballroom dancers, that I can’t help but be a little gleeful when I’m able to wear nicer and better fitting clothes, despite the fact that the fashion industry seems determined to not make clothes in my size. Seriously, I’m too big for the straight-sized clothes that suit my age, but I either drown in the plus-size clothes or they’re horribly dowdy/unflattering. Sewing is my fashion savior.

  2. I’m guilty of thinking these negative things and I feel I often have 7lbs to lose. Ok I do have a few extra pound after christmas but I take on board what you’ve said and will try and change my thinking. My issues come from bullying at school for being slightly larger (taller and wider) than the norm – back in late 70’s early 80’s when most kids were stick thin. I should know better even though I only say these things in my mind but they are all toxic thoughts.
    But as you say the great thing about sewing is that you can make clothes to fit – as I am very pear shaped its difficult to buy rtw and have almost completely stopped shopping for clothes – now I shop for fabric etc. Keep up your good work!!!:))))

    • I’ve been doing this exercise routine while I work on Pavlova… Maybe just a little bit I’m pretending to be a retired ballerina in disguise.. ;) http://www.prevention.com/workouts-raise-barre I really, really enjoy it, and that particular instructor shows a few different ways to go through the workout. I started out really gentle on myself but now I really love throwing myself into it. I feel *so* much more energetic, and I love the way my body feels.

      I just mention it because it might just help you with that 7lbs you mentioned (I don’t weight myself, but it shifted a stubborn 2″ off my hips), and it’s super fun. (I don’t have weights or a ball, so I use large cans and a small pillow. But I think I’ll go ahead and get some weights, it’s too fun…) :)

      Keep up *your* good work, too. Sounds like you’re doing a great job doing a little “re-wiring.” :) :)

      • Thanks for the tips, I’ll look them up. I’ve upped my walking regime & started running and I know i just need to stick with this and stay away from the chocolate & cake. hard when its perpetually raining here in Ireland but a little rain never hurt!! Will Power. The workout would be a good alternative when its raining though, never thought of that before!! Now I’ve no excuse!!

  3. I can’t wait to watch the video! I wish I was near you for some real life teaching but massively appreciate the on line stuff and the effort behind it. As for the body stuff you’ve already helped me in that regard although I still have a way to go so Thank you x

    • Yeah, for sure. :) I love being able to share more of the teaching online, it’s been really frustrating to feel “muzzled” by tech hurdles.. But get this- I even discovered a really nice, public digital work studio in Brisbane… They have sound and recording labs, they teach you to use the equipment and you can book in to use the space for nothing. Yeah. Thank you, Australian government and people- tax dollars at work. So i think I’ll be able to do a bit more in the next few months… And slicker, too…

  4. Hi Steph, I agree with what you have said. I know thin women who go on and on about how fat they are because they ate two big meals this week. I am not thin, I have been thin and it took a lot of work. My ONLY interest in weighing less is for my health… when I feel physically less than I could/have because I have put on weight I want to loose some weight, but so far I haven’t been ready to do it so I don’t worry about it. I like to sew clothes but I don’t follow fashion and I am not fashionable – I concluded my style is “no style”. I read a story about a girl who lost one of her legs in an accident and she spoke of how she used to berate her legs and wish them thinner, longer etc but at the time of the story was thankful that she had had good useful legs… just like you say bodies that get us through life. I don’t mind my body and it does a great job of helping me fulfil my life dreams…. can’t wish for more than that.

    On another note, what do you think about a Brisbane sewer’s meet up?

    • Yes… I think the more we all get together and chat about this with a bit of humor, the less we’ll be likely to put our negative feelings on each other, know what I mean? It’s a good thing.

      I agree- that’s a really good perspective… And at times I’ve been tempted to hate on my hips or my arms or whatever, I tell myself all the fun and wonderful and useful things my body can do… I think focusing on that really helps..

      Well- I’m going to have a fun fun sewing/crafty party in Brisbane in March… the 16th at Voodoo Rabbit… My lips are sealed for now, but that’s happening and it should be great fun. I’m down for a fun crafty or shopping get together, as long as I don’t have to organize it… ;)

  5. I’ve just started my work day and can’t view the video – but I will when I get home. I’m very curious to hear what you have to say. I’ve been very body conscious in the last year or so since changes in my body are directly related to changes in my health.

  6. I, like most women, also struggle with self image, but I am finding that most of my struggle stems from how I look and feel in ill fitting RTW clothing. I am also not a small person, but poor fitting and baggy plus style clothing isn’t doing anybody any favors. Mary on her blog illustrates this beautifully when she posted a photo of her in a baggy plus size outfit and then a tailored dress she made for herself. I am finding that when I make clothes for myself I am learning not only about the shape of my body, but ways to accentuate the good, camouflage the parts I like less (notice I didn’t say bad?), and overall the finished product makes me look and feel my best. Sewing each garment is a healing process for me. With each piece of beautifully fitting clothing I add to my wardrobe my self esteem rises. I am beginning to learn that what I look like in ill fitting RTW clothing is NOT what I REALLY look like and is NOT who I am. Until recently I was trying to lose weight so I could fit better in RTW clothing, but I realized two things:1) RTW clothing will never fit me very well. It never has, even when I was 60 pounds lighter; and 2) If I cannot lose more weight (I have already lost 25 pounds), that’s OK, because I can sew clothing that accentuates my body “as is.” And THAT is empowering.

    • Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes! This! I just came up for air after finalizing the Day 5 Lesson, and I’m on my way to bed but yes! Can someone link to Mary’s post? I’d go looking but like I said, it’s time to go to bed.

  7. Hi Steph, I discovered your blog a couple of weeks ago ( I was actually googling ways to wear full skirts…) and I love it. I had no idea there even WERE sewing blogs! Now I find there’s this whole, vast, vibrant online community – fantastic!
    I just watched your video and wanted to say thank you so much for raising and reinforcing these wider sewing issues. The insidiousness of toxic body image self-talk really hit home to me soon after my daughter was born, when I read of a study that had investigated the impact that a mother’s frequently expressed negative body talk had on her daughter(s) – that essentially, it TRAINS HER DAUGHTER TO HATE HER OWN BODY. It made me realise that my negativity hurts more than just myself. But on the flip side, positivity and body acceptance has a massive impact too.
    While I’ve believed this wholeheartedly ever since, hearing you articulate the issue so passionately made me realise that I really don’t speak up about it when I have the chance. (In fact I can think of many missed opportunities that I could have perhaps made a positive difference) I plan to change that in future….
    So thanks Steph for being not only creatively inspiring but, frankly, pretty darn empowering as well!

  8. Love hearing you talk about body issues! I could listen for hours :) interesting observation about thinner women being nastier on themselves, I wonder why.

    • bwahahah don’t get me started. I ran a wardrobe club locally here with around 50 ladies last year.. We met once a month and I’d talk about one aspect of wardrobing, colors etc and have lots of images to show everyone. I would literally talk non stop for three hours… And show techniques etc… One month I was sick of hearing all the body hating so I only only chose images of very large and fabulous women to put on that projector. I think I shocked some people at first, but it’s really interesting how much easier it is to accept our differences when we allow ourselves to open our eyes and “see” beauty in the world around us….

  9. I love sewing for the very reason that everyone’s talking about. We make clothes fit what we’ve got. I’ve got bigger bosoms and I know that there are looks that flatter me more than others…but that’s the same for someone with smaller bosoms. (I’m saying bosoms a lot) Instead of wishing I could wear a 70s must-be-braless dress, I have friends who rock that look and I enjoy their joy. Yes, sometimes I say I wish I could wear those looks but really, I just want to like what I make. I like talking body stuff. it’s always interesting to see where we all come from and how we’ve become who we are from this perspective. Let’s stop the body shaming.

    • Sigh… I really do wish I could ditch the bra a bit and also wear cute little bandeau tops etc.. But that’s just not really realistic for me and I’m getting over it… ;)

      Yeah! I always find these conversations really enlightening too, even if nothing else the change in tone from conversation to conversation over the years.. .Very interesting indeed. :)

  10. Advertising is toxic, just like you say. No one, no matter how young, thin, and toned is going to look exactly like what is pictured in a photo-shopped pictorial. I think the difference in the younger/thinner women saying the nasty things about themselves is the amount of positive validation they get from it. With the beauty/fashion industry telling them they aren’t good enough, there are a lot of women who feel like they need to get some sort of positive message from somewhere. If they invent some feature to express unhappiness about (and with saying that bad message over and over, they will probably believe it too), the odds are pretty good that some kind, sisterly woman will point out either that it isn’t that bad, or that they have this or that other awesome feature to balance it out. A heavier or older woman is much more likely to have another woman try to “help” her by telling her “I lost ‘x” amount of lbs by trying this diet system” or “I read a book…” or “here’s a laser surgeon I swear by”. If the conversation is “how should I go about changing?” then those kinds of comments are maybe helpful (or not, depending on personal opinion). If the aim was just to get “oh, no you’re so pretty” it happens less and less as one gets older and/or heavier, so there is less and less reason for a woman to make those kind of self-derogatory comments (though she still might believe them sometimes). That’s my explanation, and yes, it is very much based on my own experience.

    • It occurs to me that my comment ends on a rather depressing note. I do think that talking about body image and particularly confronting the negative comments rather than playing into them is a really important step in stopping the cycle of body self-hate. Almost any learned behavior can be unlearned. Getting rid of arbitrary sizing on clothing/patterns is incredibly helpful ( I love that Cake patterns are sized by measurements which seem much less judgmental than being “size 8” or “size 20”.) Being able to customize clothing as it is made up is so freeing too because one doesn’t have to be reminded of being bigger or smaller than some ideal or even average pattern sloper every time an article of clothing is put on.

      • You know… Just a little bit, a little bit, I think about the Arab Spring sometimes… And how it was this movement that no one expected, no one ever thought would happen and it did. How? At least in part because people could communicate freely and share their ideas outside “official” channels…

        So… Maybe just maybe a little bit we can do that in our sewing… By sharing it and etc. Know what I mean? Like- even a few years ago I think the “fashion” industry was a lot more… Hm… “Official” and “Legitimate” and I’m really excited by how many people I’ve been seeing more and more over the past year sort of shrugging their shoudlers and saying “That’s nice, I have better things to do with my brain…” Love it.

        The Cake sizing just seemed most logical to me. I faced piles of data I’d collected myself, data you’ve all sent me, my own notes, and collections of sizing systems and the sizing seemed so silly and arbitrary I decided not to go that way. I wasn’t all that sure if it would make much sense to anyone else, so I’m very pleased to know you like it. This is Cake standard.

  11. Oh you insightful and wise creature, Steph! As a (former) bridal dressmaker, I’ve been through it, and it is always a joy to help a woman to see her body for its beauty just as it is, because most had never had a dress made before so had just swallowed the whole propaganda thing. A few sessions with me, bits of dress, pins and them in their underwear and that starts to change. I think it has always helped that me being so very big puts other women at their ease – ironically because of this comparison thing, and so we can get past it very quickly. I know that for most plus size women, hell is a fitting room with a fashionably proportioned shop assistant or fitter. Actually, it’s so bad that I only realised the other week when I bought bras in a shop for the first time in many years. I was in there looking for socks for David, and a nice middle aged lady asked me if she could help me find anything, like she genuinely meant it, and so I took advantage and found the bra of my dreams. No more ebay experiments needed. I have NEVER EVER had anyone in an underwear shop ask me that, except as a sort of standard thing to say but not mean. Eye opening.
    I have a theory about why plus sized women just get on with it – many moons ago, I just stopped carping at my body. It’s too hard or too easy. If you are generally pretty ‘perfect’ but your butt is a little bigger than you like, it can become the focus of all that negativity. Or toes, nose, bust, waist, thighs, whatever. The level of complaint always seems about the same no matter how aberrant from some norm the bit of body under scrutiny. It can be barely perceptible or really very outside the bell curve, still the same vitriol.
    When so much of your body bucks the trend, I think it sort of puts the whole thing into perspective. So many of us snap out of it. And we have more to gain, so to speak, from getting a good fit as the chance of buying one in a shop is so remote.

    • Propoganda, indeed! Well said, MrsC. Well said to everything, I have a thought but I want it clearer before I express it to you (lest you think me less wise… ) but YES.

  12. I don’t know if you Aussies (is that term ok to use?) get the actual Meetup.org but that is what I use to host Denver Sewing Collective. We just had a meetup where we are discussing fitting and making fitting shells. I find women with awesome bodies don’t want to do fitting because of body issues or comparing to some faraway ideal. I’ve got a boat load of body issues but I’m trying to set them aside to become a better seamstress. Great work that you do here. Keep up the good fight!

    • Shhh… Don’t tell anyone, but I’m an American…

      Oh! Next time you’re hosting something like that, maybe address the issue before it comes up, jut briefly and with a wink and some humor… I find that really cuts down on the body negativity and maybe people feel like it’s ok to just relax and have fun.

  13. I don’t really have anything new to add about the body image discussion, but it’s nice to read everyone’s comments. But I have to say that your class sounds amazing! It’s just what I was looking for when I first started to sew– wish I could’ve taken it with you!

  14. First, red lipstick makes me feel unbreakable. (yours is stunning!)

    Second, I second the desire to partake in your classes. Need to find a local substitute.

    Third, you are so, very, inspiring.

    • It’s Lime Crime Glamour 101. It’s the best lipstick formula I’ve ever slapped on, and I’ve since ordered a few other shades of red. I know what you mean. Red lips are my “work face” too if you know what I mean…

      Jeanna! Get to sewing! If you can’t find a local substitute (and… I mean… Do you think that’s likely? :P) then maybe tune in later for my nice slick online beginner’s class. It’d be fun putting together the lessons and thinking of you on the other end, following along.. .:)

      Hey I’m thinking we’ll be around for Joel’s wedding.. Dear me we need to get on skype, where does time go?

      (Hey everyone, Jeanna is my BFF from highschool and came out to see me last year. We went sea kayaking, remember?)

  15. I don’t know what the deal is with the negative self talk, but the topic reminds me of an incident when I was about 14. A friend and I were getting changed for gym and she made a comment about how she disliked her thick calves. (They were what I’d now call muscular or shapely.) This took me by surprise and I didn’t know what to say. I had no opinion about her calves. Afterwards it occurred to me that she wanted me to say she was pretty or something. I started to notice other girls doing this too. I never associated it with ads. Rather, it appeared to be a method of ‘bonding’ with other girls. (I still don’t understand this, but then there are lots of ‘girly’ social behaviours that don’t come naturally to me.)

    Thinking abut it now, I wonder if it wasn’t establishing a hierarchy. Popular girls would snark about unpopular girls. Perhaps if you self-snark, you acknowledge their rank in a way and request to be let into the club. The condition is that you get a better rank if you submit, but not as high a rank as the popular girls. (Not sure if it’s precisely popularity at the core, but my unpopular 14-year-old self seems to think so.) Then self-snark becomes habit…?

  16. I just have to weigh in on the body image thing. I, like pretty much everyone else, always felt fat even when I was skinny which I no longer am, but getting into sewing and seeing wonderful women such as yourselves of all shapes and sizes posting pictures of themselves looking beautiful and confident in garments they proudly made themselves have had a huge impact on my own body image. Maybe looking at sewing blogs instead of fashion magazines ‘re-programmed’ my thinking about body types. So if you are one of those wonderful photo posters, first of all thanks and second of all you are a serious force for good, give yourselves a pat on the back!

    • I think there’s no “maybe” about it. I’m the same, I think the things we look at have a strong influence on the ways our minds work… :) Thanks. :)

  17. I love you, Steph!

    It took time but I arrived at the point where I realised I could make clothes that fit and flattered my body shape, rather than wait until I was at some unattainable weight/shape before I started sewing garments to wear.

    It was liberating learning to make patterns because suddenly I didn’t have to choose a size and then go through the dramas of altering it to fit. My body didn’t have ‘problem areas’ – I simply wasn’t a standard size!

    (I’ve noticed that phrasing – ‘problem area’ – in some fit texts and I think it’s a damaging choice of words that subtly reinforces the view that we should dislike our bodies.)

    Thankfully, I’ve also managed to (mostly) stop comparing myself to other women, both in style and body shape/size. I realised that someone was always going to be worse off – either myself if the woman was a more ‘accepted’ body shape or the other woman if she was bigger.

    (It was all in my head – I never expressed such opinions to the other woman – but it was still unfair and cruel.)

    I’m now so much happier because my clothes are comfortable, flattering and look good; and I can easily give other people compliments that are heartfelt.

    Sam

    • Oh! Hehe. Thanks! :)

      Wow.. Thank you for your frank and insightful comment- you hit the nail on the head with “I realized that someone was always going to be worse off…” That’s what I was trying to say, that’s just the issue. Right there. :)

  18. great video Steph and totally agree about advertising messages, it’s quite horrible. I don’t really have body issues, like you say, our bodies get us through the lives we lead and thats it exactly. But I get subjected to comments and conversations that you’re talking about. I started to type a very long comment explaining the different way that I come across it in my life but I thought a full reply might be better – would you mind if I was to post your video and write a response to it?

    • Oh yes! One- I assume the internet is a giant xerox machine. It seems a more realistic way to approach things than trying to control content, but you’re so lovely to ask. Two- I just hopped over to yours and THANK YOU for writing that. I think I’m going to just quit facebook altogether because I’m sick of seeing that kind of thoughtless, ludicrous “advicey” type stuff. Not just on the topic you mentioned.. Three- I can’t wait to read what you write. I like the way your mind works. :)

  19. I have been thinking about this in relation to my own struggle with weight-loss. It’s sad – but self-flagellation does spur me to do the things that I want to do more effectively than anything else. Or at least that sense of “I have a goal, and I must do x,y,z to acheive that goal – and I need to do those things *today*”. Self-cherishing tends to make me more interested in doing things for my body some-other-time.

    I don’t say that this is a good thing. I’d be happy to find something else that encouraged me to work through the discomfort of hunger or muscle soreness – a carrot rather than a stick. Mindfulness helps – but building the habit of mindfulness is not without effort, and sometimes effort has to be pushed.

    That said, the hatefulness with which we speak of our bodies and their imperfections is not useful. I can say that my extra weight is unattractive and causes me structural difficulties without pouring hate onto myself. One *can* speak the truth in love. And sewing helps with that – dealing with the truth of the now while doing so kindly. (I loved what you said about how we speak in ugly words about ourselves and are overheard and the knives aimed at our own hearts end up as shrapnel, cutting those around us. Who hasn’t experienced that?)

    It’s a difficult balance, and our world helps us with it not at all.

  20. Steph, you are wise beyond your years and I think this video should be played in every school to all young women. I am in my 50’s and I could have done with this advice when I was at high school in the 70’s. And the quote by Eleanor Roosevelt was the perfect ending to your video. I know I really took to sewing at high school because of the way nature made me and I was able to sew and fit clothes to my long body, legs and arms. RTW clothes rarely worked for me and now I sew for the pure pleasure and love of fabric.
    Thank-you and please keep up your good work.

  21. Heya Steph,
    Finally got a quiet moment to watch the video – thankyou :)
    I think we need to remind ourself that not only it is the body we have but the seemingly magical size number on pattern is just that – a number. Sadly though our culture attributes meaning to that number. I’ve seen many people in sewing forums who are new at sewing, start off sewing for their children and decide to have a go with a garment for themselves and are mortified and horrified that suddenly they are a size X when they are 2 or 3 sizes “smaller” than that in store bought clothes. And it doesn’t seem to matter that if they were to make the pattern there would the same amount of fabric in both garments. I went bra shopping on the weekend – a rare occurrence as I hate stores where you can rarely get help and when you do its less than helpful. Well there is a new little independent store down my way and it was a delight to walk out of there with a well fitting garment. I was measured up, several garments bought in, no mention of what size / number was on them and that was it!
    Will keep an eye out on your classes, I’ve signed up for the skirt block at Voodoo, although weekends are precious family time so its a juggle between my sewing time and family.
    Anyways, its hot and humid (yes even us locals don’t like it) and I don’t have the energy to tackle a Tira, but I think a trip to a certain fabric store that has a sale starting this week might get me motivated and I’ll then catch up on the 30min a day happenings.

  22. Thank you for a really powerful and interesting clip, Steph. I must say, in the last year or so, since I managed to getting working sewing blocks going, I have found my self esteem and happiness with my body increase substantially. It is absolutely incredible to think that all of us have the same organs and working bits and pieces and yet the packaging is so very different.

    It is also reassuring to know that my sway back is probably there to help me balance out a big bust, but I have a killer waist and can really pull off well tailored garments. Also mentioned upthread, I find myself willing to spend much more money on fabric than clothes, simply so I can have something I know I will wear to death and freaking fit my fab body.

  23. <3

    The whole thing where slimmer women make hateful comments about their own bodies drives me bonkers. I have one "friend" who does that ALL THE TIME. She's slim and fit, yes, but she lacks good self-image. She is the most beautiful when she carries herself with confidence and doesn't put herself down.

    She always compliments me and encourages me to wear clothes that reveal my figure. I'm starting to think it's my confidence that she's noticing, because goodness knows I'm a few dress sizes larger than she is! Sure, I'd like to be slimmer, but I'm not that worried about it (I mean, I'd have to sew a new wardrobe if I lost weight!) and do my best to wear things I'm comfortable in and that I think make me look good. So I'm happy with my clothes, OK with my size, pleased with my level of fitness, and it shows.

  24. A breathtakingly astute and insightful video. Maybe eventually we will, as women, celebrate the beauty of an individual as a whole package rather than just one external aspect.


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

