Notes, Catching Up and The Lorax T-shirt

I finished the Lorax stencil and blogged about it at Sew Weekly.  It’s not perfect, but I’m happy with the effect and he likes it.  That’s the important thing.  This would be the end of our stenciled shirt collaboration, but we came up with another cool design so I’ll add one more t-shirt to this series…

(Edit: I made a color version, I like those colors…)

I’m having some scanner issues- I did a whole batch of scans and saved them the wrong way (apparently) so the pages need to be manually corrected so that the pdf on your end prints the same as the pattern I made.  I know how to do it, but it’s tedious and I’m kicking myself.  Out of curiosity- could anyone recommend a scanner that recognizes document size?  Is that a thing?  With automatic feed?

I procrastinated took a break from correcting the scans and made a few new buttons.  What do you think?  I’m not graphic artist, so I’m open to advice…

This is a button to show you’re working on the pants blocks, if you’d like.

And I made this one for “hackers.”  The new BCT is in the process of being corrected, it will be out very shortly.  I want to be sure it’s right before I release it out into the wild.

I’m really *really* looking forward to getting my hands into the Megan Dress for the Mad Men Challenge.  I haven’t had a nice complicated bit of sewing for a while, it will be very pleasant.  The fabrics are pressed and ready to go, I have all the notions and tools and threads.  I’m working a little bit longer on the BCT (but I’m starting to get computer fatigue) and then I’ll dive in.


12 comments

  1. The lorax T is really cool so no wonder you came up with another design! And the buttons are cute as well though for the pants block one its a little hard to see the outline of the pattern pieces. Could you make them bolder or something? I like the blocks effect in the background ….

  2. You’ve been hard at work I see! I’m looking at that Megan dress and thinking that would be a nice shirt for me if there were sleeves. That waist detailing is slimming. I even like the color and I’m so not a pink girl! I can’t wait to see how you look in it!

  3. I use a fujitsu scansnap, the portable cheaper one. It is way awesome and detects size… And can convert printed scanned text to live editable searchable text.

  4. It may be possible to set up a macro and batch edit in Gimp if you’re having to make the same alteration to lots of files. I know how to do it in Photoshop… I’ll take a look and see if I can figure it out quickly.

    Great badges! ;) and the Lorax shirt looks great

  5. Your new badges look good to me, I wouldn’t have a clue where to start making those! I wanted to make something for the Mad Men Challenge, but haven’t even got the fabric yet! X

  6. Steph, the problem might not be with your scanner. Remember, my first printing of the pants block was the wrong size but then I adjusted my printer and it was fine. I have a Mac. When I opened the pants block in PDFPen I had to uncheck “Automatically reduce large pages to fit paper size.”. In Preview I had to check “Scale 100%”. BTW I didn’t have to do that to print Hot Patterns I downloaded from fabric.com. As for Scanners, the Scansnap S1500 is what I have and I love it. I will scan your pants block and send it back to you so you can see what it produces.
    Nora


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

