Giveaway Winner and Going to the Beach!

Drumroll, please!  The winner of 1.7m of blue New Zealand merino fabric and a copy of the Kimono Wrap Top pattern is—- Cation Designs!  I’m pleased to think of her sewing with the merino… I really enjoy reading her blog and checking out her work.  She had me at “Qipao” with this Chinese New Year dress:

Many, many thanks to everyone who entered the giveaway.  I enjoyed reading all your responses and you’ve given me quite a few things to think about!  It’s important to me to share the things I love, so I’m sure I’ll do more merino giveaways in the future.

In related new, Kirsty at RocketSews did a lovely aqua blue version of the Kimono Wrap Top.  Check it out! The tiling and sizing issues have been corrected on the Craftsy pattern, never fear!  I think I need to make one more version of this for myself with a strong, bold stripe….

I haven’t been posting as much this past week because my best friend from highschool and college is visiting me from the United States.  I haven’t seen her for two years and she’s never been to Australia. We’re really enjoying our time together, so much so that we decided to take a few days and go to Byron Bay.  Just us girls!   I love going snorkeling in the waters of the Bay, just off those rocks you can see in the photo.

Image Courtesy of the good people at Dive Byron Bay

The waters are teeming with wobbegongs, turtles, manta rays and brightly colored fish.  Or we may go out kayaking on the bay.  Or we may just lie around and breathe the salty air off the Pacific.

Either way, I’ll be offline for three days.  We’ll take heaps of pictures to share and I’ll return to my old writing schedule when I come back to Brisbane.  (And I’ll settle into developing a couple of new patterns- J has been collaborating with me and I’m way inspired!)


9 comments

  1. During my stay in Oz we took a trip to Byron Bay. And we kayaked in the bay! While we were out there a pod of dolphins swam up around us. You could see them swimming underneath our kayaks. It was quite possibly one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen. Have a great time! Are you going to stop by Nimbin, too? lol!

    • We didn’t see any dolphins, but I can go back and kayak with them over and over until I do. So that’s the new plan, because I forgot how much I adore Byron and want to make a habit of going there… I’ll be like a wussy version of Captain Ahab… Chasing dolphins.. I’ve seen them out there plenty from the headlands… Anyway.

      No, I didn’t go to Nimbin this time. It’s so gorgeous! Did you go? For the cheese, right? It’s insanely good.

  2. I’ve been feeling VERY homesick this week and lo and behold you have a photo at the top of your blog that brought tears to my eyes: I recognised those rocks instantly! I hope you had a great time. I wish I was there.

  3. you so lucky!
    i was in 1999 in byron bay, 2 weeks and it was soooo great! one morning i was swimming in the bay – three dolphins came and swam arround me! after a panic-second about the triangle finns i realized that´s dolphins and freaked out with happiness and forgot to swimm…….
    the rest of the day i walked on clouds.
    i wish i could go there again.


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

