Wins and Fails in Winter Sewing

(Favorite combination of palazzo cords, husband sweater, and trilobite cabled beanie)
I had some plans for this winter.  I was testing a few new-to-me styles and fabrics, figuring out what works for me and what doesn’t.  All in the name of science…
What worked for me for winter?
Win- Flanelette 1930’s House Coat:
This is by far my favorite.  It has precisely served its purpose.  The long flannel skirt made it snuggly, but I didn’t feel completely sloppy around the house.  I want to make a similar one in a fine batik cotton for summer, maybe a different style.Fail- Just because the pattern envelope suggests jersey doesn’t mean it’s a good idea.

I intended to make the top in the left corner from a medium weight New Zealand merino.  Wisely, I tried it first in a soft, cheap rayon:
The wool would only have been slightly heavier than the rayon, so it might be firmer but I wasn’t willing to risk it for a house shirt.  I do like this shirt, and wear it though I never finished it more than a quick muslin.

Fail- Those pants were another incomplete failure.  They are too short with shoes.  Because I -ahem- measured the hem while barefoot.  I like them anyway and wore them all winter.

Win- Persephone Weskit

I really, really like this semi-tailored weskit.  I reached for it on rushed mornings to pull two pieces together.  Many of my work basics are black and white, and the weskit (I hope) camouflages a less than perfectly ironed blouse.  The fabric proved both sturdy and hard to wrinkle.

It’s getting to be the bright time of year, every picture from this morning’s Self-Stitched-September shoot captures an awkward face.  Time to dust off the sun-jacket.

I’m looking at a few favorites from last summer, to help guide this year’s sewing.  I’m thinking a palette of crisp white, clear blue-red, baby blue, and aqua.   I’ll post more this weekend, plenty of free time.

 (Wholesome Dress, an unexpected winter favorite)

Also, I just saw a post on Dress a Day… I’m so excited, Erin’s blog has informed how I think about clothing and sewing, especially Dressing for Joy.  It’s what turned me to sewing for myself, in a style I enjoy.  Thank you, Erin.


8 comments

  1. Nice round up. I agree with your picks. I particularly like the weskit (new word for me). I can see how practical it is and it certainly looks smart on.

  2. Hello, I (quite happily) stumbled upon your blog when Casey posted about your new dress. I must say, I'm loving all your sewing posts and am mad jealous (in a good way) of your drafting skills! As a new costume design student, I'm muddling through drafting (they don't really teach it) and enjoying the exercise.Thanks for posting such lovely stuff! Keep it up. <3

  3. Oh are you SSS ing too? My morning photo was so bad I cut my head off it! hehehe. Very productive sewing winter over there, I must get my skates on to keep up. Putting a quilt together at the moment, call it a stalling tactic!

  4. I like when you do these roundups. They're helpful. Putting things into perspective. Putting inspiration into perspective. That sort of thing…I've been thinking of making a "weskit", too, out of a thrifted skirt that no longer fits. Now that I know yours is a win, I think it's a plan.

  5. Catching up on my blog reading I see I am following in your footsteps – just made the 3/4 sleeve jersey top from Simplicity 1403, and half-way through one of the simple little woven tops from the same pattern. I really like your jersey top!!!! Mine is too close on my waist. Do you think 1940s "jersey" was very different to today's jersey? I can't help thinking the top should stretch less, but I have no idea about this historical sort of thing!

  6. You made it, too? Neat! I know jersey was firmer and a bit heavier back then than is commonly used now. I used a rather flimsy knit, but I wasn't blown away by the results- not enough to try it in a firm knit. I don't care much for knits anyway…


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

