Red And Green Must Never Be Seen- Blog Love

…except upon the Irish queen.  I thought of that when I saw this suit.  Then I asked myself “can I knock it off?”

Of course, that triggered a thought about wearing blue and green.  I remembered the divine dress featured on Dreamstress’ Rate This Dress last month:

I said it in the comments, and weeks later I find myself still daydreaming about how to translate this dress into my own working wardrobe.  White lace, for one.  I have a tiny piece of silk chiffon begging to be dyed blue and put to good use.  I have some grass-green lightweight cotton.  Perhaps I’ll dye a piece of whisper weight linen along with the silk, then throw them all together in a dress resembling this one…. Hmmm…

In other news, Joy over at 21 Wale sent me a wonderful, inspirational and instructive book:

Thank you, Joy!  It’s a drafting manual that looks to perfectly complement the others I have.  I can’t wait to dig around in this and play with patterns!

Many thanks to the Postal Service/Customs for opening my present for me and holding it up a week longer than usual.  I’m glad to know you still look out for me.


12 comments

  1. That's a gorgeous inspiration dress—I can't wait to see what you come up with :)Also, that book looks great, go Joy! I want to do some more drafting myself, but there's so many patterns I want to play with right now…

  2. Chromium. Chromium dyes for green thread. Instructions in old sewing books were to never, ever baste with green thread. I don't think it was the poisonous nature of the dye so much as its tendency to bleed onto fabric, and not to wash out afterward. Green was the color of faery, so there was negative magical thought attached to green. And the English banned the subjugated Irish from wearing green. Poor old green.

  3. Aha I actually studied arsenic in my MSc degree! In fact, I wrote a paper about the uses of arsenic and the associated environmental issues that arose because of arsenic mining.In the 19th and 20th centuries, Cornwall in England used to be the worlds producer of tin ore. Arsenic minerals were associated with the ore, and eventually, as more and more uses were found for arsenic, they also became the world producer of arsenic. One of many uses of it (including use as an aphrodisiac) was to produce the pigment, Paris Green (aka Emerald Green; it was an arsenic-copper sulphide, I believe). It was used in a variety of things, from fabric dye, ink, and wallpaper dye. Since it was readily available, inexpensive, and produced such a cheery bright colour, it was incredibly popular. I didn't look too much into the results of using it as a fabric dye, but one interesting and tragic story includes how Paris Green was used in wallpaper, particularly in middle-class nurseries and young children's rooms. While it was relatively safe in dry environments, exposure to humid air lead to the oxidation of the arsenic minerals, producing a very toxic arsine gas. This lead to the poisoning and death of many children. Also, one of the many conspiracy theories about Napoleons death is that he was poisoned by arsenic (it was found in his hair, I believe). Some people have proposed that the arsenic actually came from his wallpaper. If I remember correctly, Paris Green pigment was found in his wallpaper.Needless to say, arsenic minerals are no longer used as pigments, except maybe specialty paints or something. Other arsenic minerals have been used as pigments as well, such as orpiment (As2S3) for vibrant yellow and orange paints, and realgar (As4S4) for an orange to and orangey-red.Anyways, sorry for the long story. I'm fascinated by arsenic, and it's interesting history. I found an interesting site that discusses pigments through the ages, and the link to the Emerald Green (Paris Green) talks about this all, and even shows a coloured page (using arsenic-dyed ink) from an old catalog with a green dress that was likely dyed using arsenic pigment.http://www.webexhibits.org/pigments/indiv/overview/emerald.html

  4. I don't normally thing of blue and green together, but that dress blends them quite nicely.How kind of the post office to make sure everything was in order. I guess I should have made it easier for them by putting the wrapping paper next to the book instead of around it.

  5. Suggested reading-The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements.


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

