Finished Object: Demilitarized Jacket

Yes, finally. I try to take on projects I can finish in a few sittings, I always fear bigger projects won’t get done.

I made my long-suffering husband take a load of photos.  Funny, I’ve been trying to sell him on the idea of a corduroy jacket for a few weeks now, with tepid response.  We’re more or less the same size (except he’s a man and all…) so I let him slip into this jacket.  Immediately, he asked for one made to his specifications.  I can totally do that.  This jacket is solid without being heavy, and cord is really fun to tailor.  I literally wadded this up and stuffed it in a bag for button shopping, and it still looks great without pressing.

Metal and soapstone buttons.  I really like them, but I had to find some others for the epaulets and breast pockets which will co-ordinate.  I think I found some.

This is my favorite photo.  It captures the fun my husband and I have when working together on these photos.  We would have never discovered this particular creative outlet without blogging.

I keep my Beretta in that pocket.

If you enlarge and scroll to the hem, you can see how I fixed my issues.

Sucky epaulet button has to go but it works ok for now.  It’s fake metal, that’s all  I have against it.

This is the first serious jacket I’ve made that I’m actually proud of.  Jackets I’m not proud of-2; Jackets I’m proud of-1.  As sewists, we have a certain learning curve.  Sometimes I fear I wasted serious amounts of money on my learning curve.  I was bitching about this in class the other day and my students pointed out to me that the money I’ve wasted spent on past tailoring projects can just be put down to the cost of learning, much like a class fee.  I’m ok with that. I figure that the lessons I learn the hard way can be passed on to my students.  They can learn things the easy way at my expense so it’s all good.

That’s what I call free range of movement.  This jacket correlates to a heavy sweatshirt in terms of comfort, warmth and mobility- yet it’s infinitely more stylish.   So comfortable, I’m wearing it right now.

I made this jacket during the Pattern, Scissors, Cloth RTW Jacket Sewalong.  Thanks to Sherry, for once I’m not defeated by the process of making a jacket but empowered.  So empowered, I plan to make a masculine version of it.  Husband wants green cord with brass fittings.  I drafted his sloper and I’ll merge that with this pattern.  I’ll show you the rest soon.  Edit: Find his jacket blogged here.


43 comments

  1. Wow! You did an awesome job. The fit is spot on, and the details are great. I am glad that you found the missing fifth button. Corduroy is a great fabric when you only have mild winters. It's comfortable and easy to care for.

  2. WOOT! Look what you made! That is really great! I really love the big pockets set against the nipped-in waist – that is so flattering and practical.

  3. That's such an awesome jacket! I know what you mean about the learning curve. I've been plugging away at stuff without taking any lessons, and while I've made quite a few MEH items, there's enough there that I like that makes this method of learning worth it.That said, I'm probably learning some bad habits – or doing things the long way round. One day I'll have lessons I guess, but I've always been a Dive in Head First kinda gal ;-)Can't wait to see more tailoring projects too – I'm still dreading making a proper jacket/blazer. Really should just have a crack with some thrifted fabric and if it turns out decent then yay!So what's next on the cards for you?

  4. Love the stripes! Love the pockets! Love the buttons! Love everything!I have a couple of meh projects. It happens, but then you get something that comes out wonderfully, like this and it's all worth it. :)

  5. Aw, thanks, ladies. You should know that your lovely comments go a really long way toward me striving in my sewing. Really. You're awesome. Next projects will be a black and white 50's dress I haven't blogged about yet, a male version of this jacket(which is sooo sexy because it's for my husband and all…), and my housecoat because I woke up this morning and it was CHILLY (halelujah) so I need one for breakfast. I might blog Lila's tiger coat, too, if anyone is interested.

  6. That was a great fit!! I look at your jacket and say, I want one! The next winter, perhaps, I have feet in vanilla velvet fabric in my stash and that's a great project. So I used your learning if you allow it. Chanel said that copying something is a form of flattery ……Oh Steph, I love your mind privileged!

  7. I love it! I have been wanting to make myself a dark green cord. jacket for sometime now. I am looking forward to seeing what you come up with for your husband.

  8. VERY nice jacket! I love all the features and details on it … but at the same don't *dare* show this post to my hubby. ;) He'd want the guy version also.

  9. Gorgeous!!!! Hmm, is that enough exclamation points? No? Ok, here you go: !!!! !I see a corduroy jacket in my future… (what, me copy YOU? ;) )Glad you are enjoying the cooler weather. Spring might actually have arrived here, but don't tell anyone or it'll jinx it.

  10. Wow!!! It's Fabulous Steph. I love the fabric, it looks sooo soft. The colour is gorgeous. The lining is yummy! It fits you so well, and it looks so comfortable. I agree too, you must be very proud of this jacket!

  11. This is SO great! I just love everything about it! The cut, the fit, everything is perfect and it suits you so well! And I love that it's a based on a vintage pattern but still has a modern feel to it! Bravo!

  12. Darling, you look marvelous. I am sure your hubby was MORE than happy to gaze upon his lovely wife through the lens! After all he came back for more not once but twice!

  13. Love it, it is fab, and the colour really suits you too. Clever you and well done for persevering to a breakthrough in Jacketness. Now the world of Jacketness is your Oyster. :)

  14. The professional matching of the stripes on the lining gets my vote for the most impressive bit of sewing I've seen in a long time. Wowza! This is one fantastic jacket everywhere you look. Great job!!

  15. That jacket is beautiful–color is terrific for you, and the fit is fantastic. (I'm pretty sure this is the first time I've commented on your blog, though I've been reading for a long while and admiring your style and execution. That's a long-winded way to lead up to a general "hi, I love reading about your creations and what you are thinking about.")

  16. That is one seriously awesome corduroy jacket. I LOVE the picture of you turned around with your hand on the fence. I immediately want to make something with giant pockets and a striped (and piped!) lining. I like the way you have your hair pulled back in a pony tail, too. Seriously awesome.

  17. Gorgeous! Congratulations on finishing. I've gotten busy with other projects, travel, and social engagements, so my half-finished coat is still sitting where it was a week ago. You've inspired me to try to find at least a half an hour tonight!

  18. Corduroy + Jacket = Perfection. I love the unique style, too. I would certainly wear this one. Nice work on a long project!

  19. ARGH blogger just ate my nice long comment. :( Don't wanna retype, so I'll just say that I think that the jacket looks FANTASTIC! Looks like you guys had a lot of fun with the photo shoot, too! I think the epaulet buttons looks nice, even if it is fake metal. I sort of like the different button style from the front buttons! (Which are very lovely, I have to say. The geologist in me makes me giddy about sandstone buttons!)Okay, I guess I was up to a bit more babble than I initially thought. :D Lovely jacket, and more importantly, you look like you love it! I hope it serves you well. :) Also, how cute is that, convincing your hubby that he needs one after all!

  20. Thanks everyone! I just got home from work so no post tonight, but I wanted to thank you for your kind words. It's really great to hear from some new people, too! Nice to meet you. :)I made some 30's pants today from the gnome fabric and some steel gray corduroy, just need to get some photos now.

  21. Your jacket looks awesome! I just added the collar to mine and next will add the sleeves. I also am working with corduroy for my Land Girl pants. I have waited to work on this project till my suit was done though. I am glad to see that corduroy is fun to work with because I have never used it before.

  22. Steph, that's a beautiful jacket. Really lovin those back tucks. I so love safari styles and lots and lots of big pockets. I'm with you in the handbag thing. I really prefer using pockets. I've never tried to sew cordoroy before; did you find it hard to press or add fusibles? This is the reason I shy from velvet, too.

  23. There are some really beautiful details on this – I love the fit of the back and the epaulettes – the colour is gorgeous and the choice of lining superb – hope you enjoy wearing it!

  24. Pingback: Experiments In At Home Clothes, A Double Feature « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  25. Pingback: Shopping for 30′s Suit Patterns with a “Make Do and Mend” Surprise « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  26. Pingback: Finished Object: Lady Safari Jacket in Hemp Silk « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  27. Pingback: 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

    • Oh dear- Australia has gun control, so I don’t actually have a Beretta! It’s a bit of a joke. I’d probably have something of the kind if I lived in the US, I do rather miss target shooting….

  28. Pingback: Getting Creative with a 1930′s Blazer « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  29. Pingback: Adquisiciones recientes « craftylittlebugger


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

