A 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World First: Vlog Meme

Could someone tell me what vlog meme means?  Different people doing the same thing with different results?

I loved the idea behind Louise’s latest post at A View Into My World (I re-watched and finally caught your name!) vlog meme project thing on accents so I decided to contribute.  I was a kid in North Florida, moved to Texas, then wandered a while and lived around all kinds of Not-American-English speakers before moving to Australia.  I don’t think I changed my speech much here, though I do notice a cadence shift between when I talk to my mom and when I talk to my husband.

The words I read:

Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

And answer these questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

My husband watched the video and said he’s never heard me saying “ripping good time.”  I forgot to wink.  Pretend I did.  I must have been channeling Virginia O’Brien while taping because I forgot to smile when talking about y’all.  I’m not upset about it or anything, it’s just simpler not to use the word here.

I like this list, but it seems rather geared towards exploring the differences between American rather than global dialects.  A few additional words like aluminum, basil, oregano and a choice between cookies and biscuits might add interest.  Should I make my husband do one? 

Once I started, I couldn’t stop watching these videos.  It’s fascinating.  One of my favorites was
Moorea Seal, which I found by following the thread of vlog meme things.


13 comments

  1. they're slightly addictive aren't they, i went clicking back through a whole trail of them – and in doing so realised just how fast i was speaking!!! although if i slowed to an "i'm speaking to the camera pace" i might've started over thinking and changing pronunciations :)(i thouhgt a vlog was just short for video blog!)

  2. I'm not gonna lie, sometimes I can't understand a word you said. But sometimes I can't understand what my husband says or the people on the news so what can you do? :)

  3. I long ago dated a Englishman and the one that really got me was how often the English use the word proper. I don't think Americans worry too much about being proper. I have also been laughed at for my accent but more by Americans in other parts of the county because I have a mid western Minnesota Scandinavian influenced accent.

  4. This is very cool. I'm curious about doing this myself, given that I'm your opposite – an Australian who's been living in the US ;)

  5. yay – sound at home!!! you have a far more neutral accent than i was expecting, although what was i expecting a texan rancher or something?! :-)not surprised you didn't catch half of what i said – my mother struggles to do so in person!! somethings i think its me, but its obviously the rest of the world with the problem right?!oh and i have to say sometimes i want a plural of you. i did english in college and can be quite pernickety about grammer but find myself using you'se just so its clear its a plural, my other option is "yeee" which is far to country for me – i'm a city girl haha!!!

  6. Oh, how fun! We are so wild and varied. Lawyer is a word my husband and I argue about a lot (that and pecan); we have a lot of running North/South jokes. (He's always like, "since when do LAWyers practice 'loy'?!") We both slip into our childhood accents on the phone with our parents.

  7. This is so cool! I would love to work out how to do it myself! And you can relax, I heard not a trace of Aussie in your accent, American all the way, although you do talk very quietly. You and I have that in common.

  8. You have such a pleasant voice! :) As I wrote on Carolyn's blog – it's great to hear you all speaking. Imagine all the accents that non-native English speakers have! I was struggling pronouncing the words like embroidery, yoke, sew, armscye, and gown. Especially because I've never heard them, only read on blogs.


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

