Holiday Stay-Cation: Unmitigated Finishing


This weekend, my husband and daughter go to his family farm and leave me here at home (which I am completely fine with).  Stay-Cation!

I have a big plans for finishing objects.  It’s been a while since I finished something big.  Most creative people I know tend to work in cycles and I’m the same.  For a while, it’s nothing but patterns.  I struggle to pay attention to any other aspect of my work.  Then I cut like a madwoman, chop chop chop everything in sight.  Then it’s all about construction.  Eventually I end up with a big pile of cut pieces and half-made garments begging for finish work:

From the right: My pink fluffy experiment skirt needs lace insertion.  It’s a keeper.  Then the pieces of my WW2 Jacket, I know I won’t finish it this weekend but I want to move it along in the construction process.

Side note- I like to keep the pattern and findings for a particular project in those plastic bags bedsheets come in.  They’re durable and protect my project pieces, and I don’t have to dig around to find what I need.  The Oliver + S is a blouse to finish…

I drafted and cut the exterior and lining for this skirt, including the godets.  The nap doesn’t show such a difference under regular light.  I’d like to make good headway at finishing this.

Please excuse my to-do list for the Demilitarized Jacket:

  • Stitch second pocket pouch to peplum
  • Cut all welt pocket bags, including invisible one and attach
  • Cut and assemble piping for lining/facing to put Tanit-Isis in her place
  • Fully assemble both exterior and interior
  • Follow Sherry’s latest installment so I’m caught up

I discovered that Pattern Review is currently hosting a lined jacket contest.  I know I’m within the contest dates because Sherry didn’t let us start until the beginning of the month.  Just sayin’…

Then, if I finish those projects (or make some headway and feel the need to switch gears), I can start on my corduroy bell-bottom pants with gnome linings for Joy’s Bell-Bottom Challenge.  I’m using the Smooth Sailing pants melded with my basic pants block, and I plan to make the pockets according to another well-loved pair of corduroy pants.

I bought the fabric a while ago on impulse and since I still like it and I’m at a loss how to use it, I’ll have some very fancy pants. 

I tacked the new fabric for Moderne to the end of the last post:

Tropical weight wool, I think I’ll use black silk accents.

I always feel so centered after an organizational session like this.

Do you sew/craft/skin dive in cycles, too?  Does it bug you, or do you strike when the iron is hot and hope it all works out for the best in the end?  What would you do with two and a half days of complete freedom?  Do you often plan your sewing, or tend to make it up as you go along?

How do you feel about tiny worldy-wise gnomes in your pants? 


12 comments

  1. I've been in sewing funk for the last couple of weeks, but I'm out of it now and sewing like a mad woman. Yay for Easter break from school! I think this happens to most people, but I do try and make at least a little progress every week.

  2. I like that the gnome is in front of the opera house. I've been dreaming of a pair of bell bottoms lately. I'll have to check out that challenge.I definitely work in cycles. Right now I seem to be in "planning but doing nothing" mode.

  3. > lurker here < So I don't know about gnomes in my pants… but I do know that I'm starting to collect some quirky fabrics that I dream of making ironing board covers out of, so that I can switch out my environment a little. What can I say, I get bored easily. Or maybe it's all that steam…

  4. I love quirky fabric like your gnome fabric. I found some that had topless construction men all over it, so I made it into a tote bag and have dubbed it the 'Man Bag'. I get a lot of looks when I wear it, but my girlfriends think it's the best! :D

  5. I am working on being more planned in my sewing. It doesn't feel totally comfortable yet. I still find myself wanting to cut up stuff not in the project line-up. But I will say the planning is producing more consistent results and depleting my stash. Very pleasing.

  6. A weekend home alone to sew… you lucky, lucky thing! Oh, and I would read, and have a really long bath, and go for a walk, and eat breakfast for tea, and probably feel guilty about not being as productive as I could but then, I think doing very little is a luxury that mums need now and then.

  7. I am a reformed cyclist – the only part of my sewing life I work that way is quilting, because you kind of have to, with retreats and work days to take advantage of. I have worked to break the habit in sewing garments, and now I make myself finish one thing before making the next. It's not easy but I am a tirist – I tire of projects before they are done and then I end up with UFOs all over the darn place and they chide me constantly. So, this way is working. But to each their own. LOVE your idea of the bags! I use plastic baskets for most projects because I have vast tracts of shelf space, but they have holes through which little findings can become lostings, and they don't stack so am going to start collecting, thank you!

  8. Oh, I love stay-cations! …I go through major cycles in every area of my life. I get very single-focused on microscopic things and all else loses priority. Not good at times, especially for people around me, but when I'm in "the zone" it's pretty awesome and more importantly I feel a huge sense of fascination in whatever it is I'm doing. Anyway, you mention a bell-bottom challenge – uh oh, tempts me away from my single focus of the moment, haha.

  9. Howdy, from a lurker in North Carolina. I DO craft in cycles. As I mortally despise to cut, I tend to pile fabrics with possible pattern choices, then cut like a madwoman for days and days. This has left me with about 40 projects lined up. I'll railroad through the machine all the ones that use the same color thread. Love your blog — love how you allow us into your brain.

  10. Thanks, Lin. :) I like having everyone's input and having a cross-referenced, searchable database of my thoughts and experiments.

  11. Pingback: White and Cream Must Never Be Seen? « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

