11 comments

  1. Lila looks adorable (as always) and the tulip sleeves are beautiful. Are they the couture element? They look like the sleeves in Roberta Carr's couture book.

  2. Hi Steph, I have given you a Stylish Blogger award. No obligation, but if you want you can check it out on my blog herehttp://handmadebycarolyn.blogspot.com/2011/04/un-stylish-blogger-writes-about-vogue.html (and co-incidentally a few couture details in the same post!)

  3. what a beautiful top :)i have no idea on your riddle, but i would throw in my 2 cents and guess at the impeccable seam finish you have going on around the sleeve ends and across chest!

  4. Is there such a thing as couture poetry? Nevermind – I have no idea since my techniques tend more toward slapdash than couture.Anyway, it's a sweet top on a darling brunette. I love the tulip sleeves.

  5. What an adorable cutie! She looks just darling in that cute little top. I'm really not good at riddles and I'm even worse when it comes to couture, so I'm not even going to try. But I do love how your reflect the tulip sleeves on the front with the mock-wrap neckline. (Especially paired with the tulip fabric!)Lila's going to be such a camera ham someday! Or maybe she is already. She's awfully good at posing for the camera!

  6. The funny thing is that ….. I have no idea of your puzzle, but I can say that your little princess is adorable and wish her ​​happy birthday late. I will be looking forward to see the solution of this enigma, I'm curious …

  7. Okay, I keep thinking about this riddle, and it's distracting me from my thesis. (Actually, I'll look for any excuse to distract me from the thesis, so it's really not your fault :D)I'm starting to think it's not a specific technique so much as a method. I learned recently on a documentary on shoe making that 'bespoke' means custom made or made to an individuals measurements. Wikipedia tells me that the word is derived from the verb to bespeak, to "speak for something", in the specialized meaning "to give order for it to be made". They go on to talk about how bespoke in fashion is when a garment is made from scratch or from a block pattern to an individual's specific measurements, and that some set the standards for bespoke as work that is entirely done by hand.So my guess for the answer is that little Lila asked for spring flowers (tulips in particular?), and you filled that order in true bespoke manner by self-drafting a tulip-themed top, and possibly doing all the work by hand, hand-stitching possibly included. Maybe this is why the 'prize' for the winner is a seam-ripper? I considered making up something that rhymes, but my brain is far to stretched out to do it. :)Whether I'm right or not, this was a fun riddle to think about! Now I'm off to work on my own riddle, aka M.Sc. thesis.Yours was much more entertaining.


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

