WW2 Military-Chic Jacket in Corduroy

If you haven’t heard, Sherry is hosting a RTW Tailoring Jacket Sewalong for April.  She’s clever, experienced, a great writer and has forever transformed the way I make a convertible collar.  I’m pleased to have a chance to learn from someone so skilled.

Thanks, Sherry!

Remember my Lady Safari Jacket?  Other projects cropped up, work got in the way, friends visited from England and two months later I have a jacket which wants a hem, buttonholes, decorative stitching and lower pockets.  You see, I mislaid the pockets over the past two months and I don’t have fabric for new ones.   The loss of pockets dampens my enthusiasm, though I’m sure they’ll re-appear.

Completion of the main construction shows me I like this cut.  I altered heavily, using a favorite jacket as a guide to ease and my body shape.  It’s perfectly comfortable.  I like it so much, I’m making another one.  No need to muslin or fuss, I know I like the pattern already.  Whew.  I rather suspected I’d make the Lady Safari’s fraternal twin sister when I saw the pair of them.

Oh corduroy.  I’m a little mad for textural fabrics, and the many wales of corduroy never fail to make my heart thump harder, but wide wale is my favorite.  The lining is a cotton-poly blend, I like stripes as much as I like texture.  Not so excited about the poly, but I’m trying to use what I have to hand.  When I find a better lining, I can simply replace it.

I’d like to use pewter buttons to match the buckle discovered in my findings drawer, probably plain ball shanks.  I want a “whiff of 40’s military” jacket which features some of my favorite fabrics and techniques, not a 100% accurate 1940’s piece.  Hence the corduroy and the plain buttons.  I don’t need bulky pleated breast pockets, I might change to welted flaps. I love the massive lower pockets.


15 comments

  1. Jeepers – I hope I can live up to that introduction!Glad you're sewing along, I love what you're making – pattern, colour and fabric!

  2. Love love LOVE your fabric choices! I adore corduroy. Need to sew with it more, especially after I learned that lesson about pile the hard way on a skirt once. Whoops! :DI'm looking forward to seeing how this all turns out. (I'm sewing vicariously through you guys, atm)

  3. It's great to hear someone who loves corduroy. I do too, always have. But when Sandra Betzina said she found it boring, unless cut on the bias and worked on angles to show off the wale, I put it in the back of my mind. Thanks, I'll think of it again now.

  4. Sherry, I didn't say anything that wasn't completely true. You're too modest.Thanks, Karin. The back waist looks a little weird because I had it pinned a certain way for applying the belt, but that's all fine now… Heather! Always good to see you're still "around." Don't worry, you'll get back to the sewing soon.Julie- When my husband and I were first married, we were given a gift of choosing a new livingroom set. We wanted a deep comfy couch covered in brown corduroy. His mother (who I barely knew then and wanted to defer to) talked us out of corduroy because "It doesn't wear well." I'm still kicking myself for not getting the cord- it wears like nails! And it's sooooo nice to run your hands over, and I like the rumply look it gets as it ages. Betzina and I have our differences at times…

  5. Love that fabric and lining! I recently picked up a mass of corduroy, but I suspect it won't end up being lined…Also, you think your breast welt pockets can defeat my piped lining? Your tailor-Fu is strong, but MINE is stronger!

  6. Your jacket choice is great – corduroy is a lovely fabric to wear and to sew with, too. I agree with you statment about the breast pockets. I usually cut them out and baste them on and then see if they are a yea or nay – some times they look great and then other times . . .

  7. Great jacket! I love that look in the back! Can't wait to see it made up in the cord with the fab striped lining! I think I'm going to try the Tailoring sewalong too….what a great opportunity to make some fun pieces!!

  8. That's certainly a big project. A little tip, when I cut corduroy, I saw an apron to not end completely filled with small fluff in my clothes. Looking forward to seeing your progress in this wonderful jacket.

  9. Love the corduroy! It's going to be scrumptious as that jacket. I'm a huge cord fan myself, and have amassed such a ridiculous collection of it that I made myself do a huge purge recently. Bye bye orchid purple corduroy, bye bye ocean blue variable-wale, bye fuchsia needle wale, bye orange, bye!

  10. I am excited to see that you are using a 40's pattern. I will be using one as well for the sew-along. I did have to adjust it quite a bit also since these vintage patterns tend to be smaller. I think that this is part of the fun of working with patterns though.

  11. Pingback: From Block to Pattern: Moderne Dress Alterations « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  12. Pingback: New Developments in Silk and iDyeing « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  13. Pingback: Textures of Lydia: Sample Sewing « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

