Finished Object: Ruffles (have ridges) Top


Complete!  I remember an apocryphal story of how the potato chip came to be:  
In the summer of 1853, George Crum was employed as a chef at an elegant resort in Saratoga Springs, New York. One dinner guest found Crum’s French fries too thick for his liking and rejected the order. Crum decided to rile the guest by producing fries too thin and crisp to skewer with a fork. The plan backfired. The guest was ecstatic over the browned, paper-thin potatoes, and other diners began requesting Crum’s potato chips.
I remember versions of this story involving the diner sending the potatoes back repeatedly until Crum became rather sarcastic and purposefully over-did his diner’s request.  
That’s how I feel about this top.  Don’t worry, I’m sick of it now, and won’t be geeking out over pattern making again for a little while..  My first three versions (I only showed you the best one!) were sickly weak cowls at best.  
No one could call this a sickly weak cowl.  I might have taken it too far, especially given my physical proportions.   
Well over two feet of drapes.   For the first time in longer than I can remember, I feel a little timid about wearing something I made in public.
That said, I rather like the ridiculous drapes because they remind me of classical sculpture.  
 (photo monkeyed with)

The aqua pleases me, I don’t have any clothes this color.  And of course, bamboo jersey feels like a delicious dream against your skin. 

Shoulder pleat detail.  Not much to see here.  I did move the pleats closer to the neck which upset my marked pleats so I had to make new symmetrical pleats on the fly.  I’m not a fan of messing around with details like that as I sew, rather preferring to settle those types of issues before I even turn on my machine.  By the way, the pleating created much less bulk than I anticipated.

All photos by Lila.

Husband prepared a lovely post on yogurt-making without special equipment, stay tuned!
 

19 comments

  1. Wow. Pretty amazing. There are other Xtreme draped tops out there (a Hot Patterns version comes to mind) so wear it, give it a chance and see how you feel.It is really something, though. The slim arms look pretty and the color is wonderful. Beautiful work!!!

  2. Well, it's quite dramatic, to say the least… and I had to think of classical sculpture as well ;)This will attract male/female stares, I'm pretty sure. Might not be the thing to wear on any day, there should be a Bombshell Day for this :)Maybe underneath a very classical, masculine jacket? I think it looks nice, but I guess I would be hesitant about wearing it, too. Thanks for sharing the anecdote about potato chips – I had heard about this before, but forgotten it. Perfect story for this top :)

  3. Scrumptious! I don't know if it's too much… I thought that about my first try, too, but once I got used to it I realized it was fine. Oddly, my next (and hopefully definitive) version will be in teal, too ;)And I think it would look to die for with a high, cinch-waisted full skirt.

  4. Wow….that's dramatic all right! Looking forward to the yogurt post — I've had my own post in draft mode for over a year now. Wondering how his method compares to ours (which is basically the Anne Mendelson method with a few tweaks) and hoping to learn something new!

  5. Oh, I love it! Don't be shy about wearing it at all! The colour is gorgeous, the fabric is divine, and the draping at the neckline is so pretty and feminine. Well done!

  6. Very very nice. May I make a bit of a suggestion, if you ever have to break the news to your husband that you… say… crashed the car or broke the TV, I vote you wear this top to do that in! I just have a hunch it would go as good as could be expected.

  7. Thanks everyone, I feel a little more confident..PepperToast, you think it's one of those tops? I hadn't spotted it… Lizajane- red? My my. I was thinking of making a skirt like a poppy. Hmmm…

  8. Your daughter is becoming quite the photographer! I need to get one of my little beasts trained up.Love the comparison to classical sculpture, and subsequent decapitated photo. Also love the use of the word 'apocryphal'. Must go and look it up. It's always been one of those words that makes enough sense in context not to bother with exact definition, but I'd love to be able to use it with confidence like that :-)PS I do like the top, the best yet I think. Looks great with that shape of skirt.

  9. Oooo, good job working the cowl out! I've been following you posts about this top (admittedly, days and weeks late), and it's been neat to see your drafting process as you attempt this top. While I'm not normally a fan of tops with the large drapey cowl, it turned out very nice, and you look lovely in it. I love that colour!

  10. Hi Steph, I've recently found your blog and love your writing. That colour is great, and whats wrong with looking like a grecian goddess now and then?

  11. I think it looks wonderful on you and VERY styley indeed. Very waist tinyifying! :)Also delighted to have gotten the amount of fabric needed for drape correct *polishes fingernails on front of top* :)


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

