Finished Object: Jean Ross Pants

K.Hep pants sit close to nudity in terms of comfort, at least in my book.  I made these from Wearing History’s Smooth Sailing pattern, but my heart was with Jean Ross of Weimar Berlin:

I’m one step closer.   I wish I could slip a note in her hand letting her know that in 80 years another unsmiling brunette would find her photo and take inspiration.  I can’t easily remove the demon eyes, and don’t have the time to invest figuring out how.  So I’m possessed…

Pockets courtesy of Oliver + S Ice Cream dress.

The pants came out too big because I over-compensated for my fat holiday ahem in the alterations.  I’m not bothered and suspect that only the most critical eye would trip over my wrinkles.

I used an over sized loop and a leather covered shank button at the side.  With limited free time, I could sew like a mad thing or take excessively detailed photos.  Sometimes the photos win, but not this week.

Unbleached organic cotton, one of my favorite fabrics to work with.  It becomes soft and buttery, almost velvety with repeated wash and wear.  If I had to choose just one bottom weight to wear the rest of my life, I’d choose this.

My alterations:

I shaved off a little wedge in the CB waistband seam, added a little to the high hip at the side (for my muffin tops) and scooped out the bottom of the crotch curve.   I knew I was trying a scatter gun approach; it worked well enough.  The pants are comfy with no visible camel toe.  In the future, I might straighten the side seams and re-draw the grainline.  I’m indebted to SewistaFashionista and Sherry for your advice– it worked, I have wearable pants!

I must press on with my work wardrobe project (girdle jeans tomorrow from Burda 08-2009-106), but I’m already planning the Jean Ross top and knitted beret.  I finished the Smooth Sailing Blouse today, in a double gauze.  She’ll appear directly.

(Photos of these pants taken on a chair, though not necessarily as elegantly as others…)


17 comments

  1. Oh how I wish I was brave enough to wear wide leg pants. They look so comfortable and sensible to wear in our climate. The side opening is so much more flattering than front zip pants. Maybe I should give them a go …

  2. Bravery has nothing to do with it, carol. :) Have you seen the awful things passing for pants in the stores? Yuck. And funny funny- when I wear my K.Heps out in public I usually have more strangers stop and compliment them than when I wear a pretty dress. So there you go- people around here dig the K.Heps.

  3. Another winner for your wardrobe, they are very comfortable and I love, love the detail of the pockets. I laughed a lot with your comparison on the chair. Fun!

  4. I love a wide-leg pant. This one looks wonderful on you. Have you seen Loes Hinse's "Hepburn Pant"? It is a wide-leg pant also, with a high, slightly bagged waist, fly front zip.

  5. You look beautiful in your pants. I'm checking out the pattern site because yours are so terrific. You are right about wide-legged pants to be nearly as comfortable as being nude! ;o

  6. wow thanks for telling me about your blog today. i am loving what i see. see you thursday night. can't wait. one feels incredibly pedestrian now.

  7. The pants look fabulous. I'm too scared to take my waistline that high. I don't think my body shape can pull it off. The top's a winner too. I'm going to have to track down the pattern for that.

  8. "K.Hep pants sit close to nudity in terms of comfort" …love that. These have to be the coolest trousers in the world, combining everything I love. I'd wear these all summer. And now I've discovered another pattern company to try, as well as discovering your blog. ;)

  9. Pingback: Are Guachos A No No? What About Chef-chos? « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  10. Pingback: 1925 Sunhat and Trash Wars- Help a Sista Out « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  11. Pingback: Organic Cotton- Because It Feels Divine « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  12. Pingback: Finished Object: Advance 7701 « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

