Of Hats and Frocks and Roses

If there is any pleasanter way to spend an evening than trimming a hat, I don’t want to know about it.  I’m hooked on hats.

We took precious few pictures of my outfit the other day.  I didn’t want to run around like an egomaniac gone mad trying to get blog photos.  Besides, it was a horrible hot day and I dared not wear much makeup.

I re-dressed-up this morning and took photos in the rain, much preferable to sunshine in my book.  Hair from Strawberry Koi, it takes me about 15 minutes to put up.

Many, many strangers complimented my hat.  Does any decade do glam quite like the 50’s?

I prefer the late 30’s-mid 40’s for day wear, but what girl can pass up a full skirt, feathers and red roses?  Not this one.

I’m proud of him.  Over dinner we became rather light hearted and capered on the sidewalk to the amusement of passers-by.  So much work to get this far with a child, immigration and trying to become a family, but it happened!  Now bring on the post-grad.

I’m more than happy to do a roses/hat tutorial if anyone’s interested.


18 comments

  1. You look gorgeous, he looks proud and it was all worth it. Yes, on to the post grad and perhaps the possibility of a doctorate??

  2. Bachelor of Science for Ecology & Conservation Biology. He has a sweet internship this summer studying a species of perch recently discovered up north. Then he'll come back here and spend a year working on that project so he can put more letters behind his name. Then we'll go to exotic lands to work saving the planet. I'll have a full imperialist lady wardrobe by then. :)

  3. Stunning outfit! I would love to see how you made those roses. I made a birdcage veil for my wedding with those wispy feathers and some fake rose petals. It was a huge hit and I had a lot of fun making it, too. You get to be both creative and a detail-oriented engineer with those things.-J

  4. ohhh..the dress, hat and belt were soooo lovely! I absolutely adore the picture of both of you! Fantastic and congrats on the degree!

  5. You could have stepped off the pages of a vintage Vogue magazine! Beautiful hat. Congrats to your husband, and to you. Success- it's "the woman behind the man", you know.

  6. Absolutely wonderful, I love the hat (hats are my weakness). You put a tutorial, please. Congratulations on your graduation!

  7. Pingback: How to Make Dior Roses « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

