Sharp and Pointy Objects, A Giveaway

 
I had a problem recently.  When I snipped corners, my scissors chewed the fabric.  Ripping seams became an odious chore.  My good pins evaporated overnight, I fought to force my old dull pins through fabric.  I thought it must be me.

Sharp and pointy objects lose their edge.  I have a well-stocked sewing room, it’s easy to forget these things.   Just like needles, pins and seam rippers and scissors need replacing.  I shouldn’t have to fight my tools.

My favorite pricklies:

Pins-  I like fine glass-head pins for silk and fine work as well as ordinary dress-making.  These are the best.  Flower head pins for length and stability work especially well for heavy fabrics, bag-making, and quilting.

Hand needles- When I ventured into fabric-flower making, I had to turn my house upside down to find hand needles.  Shame.   Best to have a variety of nice sharp ones close at hand.

Seam Rippers–  I adore the brown-handled Clover seam ripper.  Stitches practically jump out of the fabric when they see this bad boy.  I like the mini-scalpel for buttonholes and those icky nests of bobbin thread that happen sometimes.  Just shave the back, and pull out the top threads.  Easy.  No crying.

Stout, short, sharp scissors-  I don’t think its possible to have too many pairs.  Keep them by the machine for snipping corners, grading, clipping curves and threads, and poking out corners.

Tailor’s Awl– Not only can I poke little holes neatly through eyelets on my belts, I use it as an extra finger when performing tricky sewing.  Ever top-stitch around a collar only to find the corner of the collar wants to stick under the presser foot?  I use my awl to help the bulk along.  Brandish it while flashing the “crazy eyes” to ward off unwanted interruptions to your sewing.

Buttonhole Chisel- I put this down to gimmickry until I used one.  Wow- gorgeously cut buttonholes with no threads hanging around, no warping, just a few taps with the hammer and viola!  I like using a hammer in my sewing.

Also included are a pretty voodoo mouse to hold pins, and a coordinating roll-up case for all your sharp and pointies.  I made the case myself.  Tools are brand-new and razor sharp, I divested them of their packaging.

Giveaway is open to all on my Followers list (join), just leave me a message telling me your sewing skill level.  If you’d like another entry, make a post about my giveaway on your blog or website and leave a link.  Open to citizens everywhere.

I’ll choose the winner on December 7 at 5pm Brisbane time.

(Marlowe, the dress is in the mail!  I have a post-office dissociative problem.  I bought a pre-paid international envelope to ship this next one, much better strategy. )


34 comments

  1. Steph, what a wonderful giveaway. Just wanted to stop in but do not enter me in the giveaway as I'll be traveling. Thanks!

  2. What a fun, but practical giveaway! I would say that I am at an intermediate to advanced level. I lack the patience to really edge myself up to accomplished, but perhaps if I had the right tools….Tartdeco at gmail dot com

  3. Thanks for the give away, it's so practical and if I didn't win I'll have to buy some of these anyway. I'd say I'm intermediate but with a fear of buttonholes, so that chisel would be very handy.

  4. What a great giveaway! Hmmm…what is my skill level? I would say Beginner Intermediate. I've made things like trousers, blouses, etc. but I am just now working on my first lining and have yet to do anything really tailored.

  5. Hi Steph,Ever since I heard of the buttonhole chisel I thought it was a gimmick, too. You've sparked my interest! (And, as an aside, apparently a 'buttonhole' used to be called a 'buttonhold' but our sloppy pronunciation tendencies turned the 'd' into an 'e'.)My sewing level is probably intermediate. I still have to think and pin and flip and test some construction techniques before I commit to sewing them; and even then I have to unpick all too often! Good-o!Sam (samsprite at hotmail dot com)

  6. What a gorgeous giveaway. I have to say I was a bit surprised though when I read you had to search for handneedles when you started flower making. I hand sew a lot on all my garments, I wouldn't know what to do without them!I think I am an intermediate sewer, by the way. I'm not scared to tackle any kind of project and think I am able to finish most of them with succes, but I have to confess I have a lack of patience (and time, for that matter) that gets in the way of developing more advanced skills and finishing of garments.

  7. Oh yea, and I was just putting in a request to my Santa for some new sharps. My sewing level is fearless: even if I don't know how I'll attempt it. What do you mean that's not a level? ;) Thanks for giving us all a chance at this amazing giveaway!

  8. Hi Steph, my sewing skill level is Advanced Beginner, though next year I'd like to expand my skills by sewing with leather, making welt pockets, and a nice softly tailored jacket among other things. I would love to win some pointy things :-)

  9. I'm probably a little above beginner – I can follow a pattern and know my way around a sewing machine, but I still need a lot of help with advanced techniques and don't know how to adjust patterns to my measurements. Too often my projects stall after I get all the pieces cut out and ready because I'm too nervous to attempt a certain technique! This is a great giveaway, and really good timing too – I'm on university holidays at the moment and would love to get to work on some of my old projects!

  10. When I finish my Lady Grey, I am officially updating my skill level on patternreview to "advanced beginner." I think I will have earned it (I am furiously working away on it right now).I was just fighting with my hand needles this weekend. I was basting on hair canvas to the back of my LG with a really dull needle– I had to find an open spot in the weave to push it through. Crazy! Why didn't I go buy new needles?

  11. this is one of the best giveaways i've ever seen. even though i've been sewing since i was about 6 years old, I'm still a beginner bc I haven't applied myself too much. So those pricklies would come in handy for trying some new things, too.

  12. I think some you ladies sell yourself short on the skill level front. I've seen your work! Advanced Beginners, Beginner Intermediates indeed. I'd snort if it wasn't so unladylike. I rather like the "fearless" category. I'm going to use that in classes.

  13. What a wonderfully generous giveaway. I like the little pouch and intend to make one this week for my newly purchased crotchet bits n pieces. I'm going on a road trip soon for the Xmas holidays and need something to filled the sewing void. I thought it would be a good time to learn to crotchet.Sewing level – not sure what the criteria is. I guess I'll happily buy dress patterns that say intermediate level and then tread cautiously. Advanced beginner perhaps.

  14. Ooo, ooo, me, me! I've been thinking I need new scissors and better pins… my scissors are good but they don't snip to the tips any more, and my pins are all dollar-store cheapies and getting very dull. I think I would label myself "advanced intermediate"… I tackle fancy things, but still lack precision and finesse :). And you don't want to see my construction details ;)

  15. What a wonderful giveaway! I have never used a chisel for buttonholes but am intrigued and now want to try it. I have been sewing off and on for many, many years. I guess I would consider myself an intermediate level sewist. Thanks for the opportunity to enter and to follow your blog. debutaunt79 at yahoo dot com

  16. Pick me! Pick me!!!!(Jumping up & down; flailing arms wildly)Hi Steph,I'd say I am at the intermediate level right now. I've been sewing for several decades but haven't quite mastered most of the couture techniques to take things to the next level. Maybe in 2011, I'll think about working on some things. For right now, I am enjoying where I am and reading the progress of everyone else in blogland. Unfortunately, my sewing mojo had taken quite a long holiday and is just now waking up from a deep slumber. This giveaway is just what I need to really rev up the motor and getting motivated once again.Angela

  17. I'm intrigued by the chisel – I'm dulling my poor seam rippers by opening buttonholes with them. How to determine sewing skill level? I guess "Intermediate" is a nice broad category.

  18. What a lovely giveaway – skill level – should be much more advanced than it is. currently fighting with fitting! UGH. I do love your blog. g

  19. Oh, boy! What a great giveaway! I discovered your blog through the lovely Jacki at Modern Twist. I am an advanced sewer trying to find enough time to get all of my Christmas gifts made!Sarah :)

  20. I love your giveaway – so practical and thoughtul! First of all I am a relatively new sewer but learning all the time! Secondly, I have signed up to follow you and look forward to future posts.

  21. I'd love to win your giveaway. I'd give it to my daughter, who has recently declared herself a professional seamstress. My sewing skill level is best described as optimistic. I moved to Queensland from North America a long long time ago, and I now consider it the centre of the world.

  22. I have recently decided my level is "upper intermediate". I am not quite advanced although I will get there one day, in the meantime I do know what I don't know.. and I also know I'd love to be entered in the draw.

  23. Steph- My sewing level depends on the day and my mood. Sometimes my sewing lines up and the sleeves are perfect-o, other days I have trouble with just sewing straight. And you are right- I was just noticing that my pins were catching in my slinky lining. J

  24. Hi! A new blog to follow yay! I am definitely a beginner at the mo. Getting the hang of my machine and I've altered the odd dress to fit.

  25. Oooh….I think I got my love of sharp pointy things from my dad – he used to give us fancy pen-knives and scissors as presents. It was the only way he ever showed that he regretted not having a boy.Anyway, I love the 'fearless' description, though I think sometimes a better description for my sewing level is 'rash'. I'm a 7.5 out of 10 as a historical seamstress and pattern adapter, and a complete beginner at doing all the ridiculously simple patterns. I skipped right to the big stuff and now I can't do the easy things!

  26. Great giveaway. I think my level right now is "meditating" meaning that I tend to fiddle and refine techniques rather than learning new, advanced techniques.

  27. Pingback: A Finished Object by 8:00 am | Tanit-Isis Sews


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

