My First Giveaway- A Dress!

 Since Friday was my birthday, I want to give away a dress.

 I made her last February during another stay-cation.  Never worn.  She deserves better than hanging in the back of my wardrobe.

She’s a guilt piece.   You know-  good fit, great sewing, but you put it on and feel you’re wearing someone else’s frock.  I never wear her though she’s a great dress- hence the guilt.   A great dress should be worn.  Or re-fashioned.

I can’t cut up this dress.  I called her Katherine while I was making her. 100% cotton, seams serged, invisible side zip.

She’s a (c. 1951) size 16: 34″ bust, 28″ waist, 37″ hips.  I made a small 1″ FBA.  A larger waist might fit fine, there’s about 1.5″ of ease.   The bodice darts could be let out.  Smaller ladies could take them in.  

“Pointed stand-up collar and raglan type sleeves are cut in one.  The circular skirt is cut in two sections.”  Pretty colors, just not my colors. 

I left her unhemmed, but can make a narrow double-fold hem before shipping by request.  Shipping anywhere.

Take her, wear her, cut her up if you want.

Rules of the giveaway:  (Open to my followers list)

Four ways to enter:

1) Tell me you want the dress.

2) Tell us about your guilt piece. 

3) Leave me a link to a post on your blog/website about the giveaway.

4) Leave a comment letting me know what content you enjoy, and what you’d like to see in the future.

I’ll use a random number generator to decide the winner.  The giveaway closes next Sunday at 5pm, the 14th of November (my time).


9 comments

  1. Love the dress, but I'm pretty sure this style wouldn't suit me, so don't give it to me! I'm getting better at getting rid of my guilt pieces. A smaller wardrobe and less storage helps with this. I ruthlessly gift stuff to charity that I haven't worn once, at the end of a season.

  2. I knew it wouldn't be everyone's style, but I hope she finds a good home. I'm thinking of doing a wider-appeal giveaway soon.

  3. Wow. Super-cute dress, and you look super cute in it. What a unique pattern, too! I'd love the pattern, but the dress would be a tad too small for me.

  4. I love the fabric. When I first started sewing I made a very simple loose fitting dress from brown silk (I had no idea what I was doing). It actually turned out ok, not the best sewing in the world, but the style just was not for me. I need something with a more defined waist. It hung in my closet for months. Guilt because I spent quite a bit of money on the fabric. Then a friend happened to notice it, put it on and it looked like I made it for her. I was glad that the dress ended up having an owner. She wore it to my rehearsal dinner :)

  5. Beautiful Katherine. She is just my size and would have a lovely home with me. I'd even promise to send photo 'visitation' if you like. :)

  6. Cute dress though it would be too small so don't put me in the give-away but I think your contest is a neat one. What do I do with guilt pieces? I keep them around awhile,then I decide: cut into something else, make it work, or give it to the thrift store. A prosaic and uncreative approach I know but by putting off the decision making I will have made a few other pieces that I do like in the meantime so the guilt project just gets reduced to a decision.

  7. Adorable! I'm not 100% sure about the pattern, but I would love to own something made by you!My guilt piece: a beautiful grey wool suit jacket, with matching pencil skirt. I just never had a job where I had to wear that kind of suit! I gave away the jacket first, and just got rid of the skirt. Soooo much work, and I never wore it!

  8. I have a guilt piece… a "Frankenstein" creation a re-purposed skirt and top combo sewed into a dress… I love the way it looks but its really just not my style. marloweopat at gmail dot com


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

