The Outer Shell of a Dress

The dress has come to the place where I can see it will work out well.  All crazy thought-work is finished (mostly).


Silver bow?

She needs a lining (candy pink cotton) with interfacing, a zipper, a hem and a thorough pressing.  I’m debating making a new “fluffer.”  I have a soft, modest crinoline for day wear; I think I want a stiffer one for parties.  The black net and lace for it have cluttered my table long enough.

The back.  I carefully positioned the pleats to match up with the seams and darts, giving the effect of a huge double box-pleat.   I can’t wait to do a proper post on this dress after I finish it, but I don’t want to rush the finishing.

Looks like dimples at the top of the darts, I’ll check if it is the sewing, the pressing, or the fabric.

I just wanted to give you a peek.


12 comments


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

