It’s A Bow- Dress Joy

I take back all previous aspersions cast against sartorial bows.  I fought too hard for this one.

I won’t go into too much detail, but to give an idea of how long this feature took me to figure out here are my visual “notes to self”:

The original pattern, I dared hope not to need a fba.  No such luck.

This muslin worked out.  I played with it all afternoon, then we (the bow and I) felt I should sew something that didn’t require all of my concentration.  By that I mean I was sick of sewing while wearing my girdle.

Picked up the pleated bodice in the morning over coffee.  5524 is too cool for me to walk away defeated.  I treasure the time I have to pour into a project like this.  In my usual sewing time, this would take a week or longer and I would probably set it aside for simpler sewing. She was lovely by lunch.

I have no qualms about wearing this bow on my bust.  I feel I’m working on something exciting- a pretty dress.  I haven’t felt this way since I used to make Elizabethan and Edwardian knock-offs in cheap fabrics as a teenager.

Lounging Pajamas, made on my break.  The cloud cover outside (unseasonably chilly and delightful) makes for bad photographs, I’ll post some soon.


7 comments

  1. Ah, but it's a bow that says "look at the amazing things that fiber can turn into!" rather than "here, I've giftwrapped my backside for you". The dress is looking lovely, can't wait to see it finished!

  2. Pingback: Design Inspiration: Fine Batik Cotton and 50′s Halter Dresses « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

