Refashioned: David-Davina Shirt

This isn’t a fair review of the Smooth Sailing blouse, since I mis-used and changed so much about the pattern.  I’d like it to be a “Tried and True” blouse pattern eventually; making a TNT takes a deal of twiddling for a perfectly fit final pattern.  I refuse to expect anything other than imperfection the first time around.

Hindsight says:

  1.  Just because a 32″ high bust with a large FBA saves altering the back and usually works, doesn’t mean it will always work with every pattern.  I will try the pattern again, only cutting a 32″ for the back yoke.  Everything else a size larger.
  2. A 34″ high bust on the front is fine, I need to try making a 1″ FBA (which incidentally won’t over-dramatize the armscythe the way a 2.5″ fba will) and adding 1/2″ to the side seams at the bust.  I don’t usually add at the side seams, but for this pattern I think it would work well.
  3. Sleeve plackets to the back.  I  carefully cut the sleeves in order to keep the nicely made cuffs, and reasoned the plackets should go to the inside.  Note to self- double check RTW when in doubt.  I thought I could live with the backwards plackets, but they seem to throw off the sleeve’s balance.  I’ll cut them off above the cuffs and hem.
  4. Collar sits funny, but not in a completely horrible way.  See 1.
  5. Reminder: Haste makes waste.  Why did I not double check the waist length?  Waist sits just slightly too high.

All things considered, I’m fairly pleased with the end result- quite wearable.

Simplicity 4044 black linen pants, made a long time ago.   They’re comfy, smart, and cool.  I have them rolled up for gardening and as a prototype for the fishing pants I’m mulling over.  Like knickerbockers.

The scent of jasmine (on the bamboo screen) reminds me of my wedding day.  It grows here like honeysuckle grows back home.  I miss honeysuckle.  Silly bass-ackwards sleeves apparent here.  If it weren’t uncomfortable I’d keep them that way for laughs.

It seems many people re-fashion men’s shirts.  For me, it has to do with fabric price, quality and availability.  I simply can’t put my hands on some fine-quality shirt cotton for less than about $40/yd- even that is the cheapest, and with limited color choice.

I could pay usurous shipping and buy from the U.S.

Or I could carefully shop and turn high-end men’s shirts into charming casual wear for $8.50 a pop.  $8.50 buys two and a half 20 oz Cokes here.   (My own flawed but useful system of figuring out buying power anywhere in the world.)  I couldn’t buy an edible lunch out for $8.50.

Elbow sleeves- acceptable.  I rather like that length lately.  More coverage than short sleeves and I don’t have to roll them up.  (Though I rolled them up in that picture to show what they’ll look like chopped and hemmed)

Notice the wrinkles on the back, below the yoke, at the far left and right sides?  The gathers should hang straight down without pulling.  This is slightly uncomfortable (but wearable) and bothers me because I compromised the integrity of the design.   The next shirt will have a beautiful back.

Meanwhile, I found more shirt re-fashioning inspiration:

Shirt into Shirtdress


Like so many other sewing projects out there, inspired by Anthropology

Cute little girl’s dress, I’m sure I’ll try this

Homemade by Jill Dress (Why haven’t I seen her blog before?)

Ruffled Shirt, might try this one after I nail the Smooth Sailing blouse

Next: Shirt re-fashioning notes, cutting layout and pictures!

(I’m still working on the quilts, but I thought this little project might be more interesting than constant quilting pics.)


6 comments

  1. It looks great. Very feminine. Did you add the pockets or were they already there? I like the little bit of interest there. Hard to believe this was a mens shirt.

  2. I like your idea of taking men's shirts and refashioning. Buying men's quality shirt cotton is not that inexpensive in the States either, a lot of it around $20-30/yd in my area. What is a girl to do but hit the thrifts?

  3. Pingback: Finished Object: Annelise Blouse « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

