Finished Object: Freya

Freya!  Wild angel dolly from Australian designers Melly & Me.  Did you know they plan to launch their own fabric range at the Houston Quilt Show?   They already make an obscene number of doll, toy, and bag patterns- I suppose fabric must follow.  The toys have become something of a fad among the staff at work.  The shop is littered with lurid elephants, bright giraffes, funny little bear things.

Usually I keep work sewing out of the blog, but I had to share Freya.  I held back from making her for a long time because I saw all the fiddly little pieces and decided I would rather make fiddly clothes.   Joke’s on me, she’s really simple:

Especially if you use a rotary cutter.  This is an example of trimming away everything that isn’t Freya.  I used leftovers from two different fabric ranges, and some little bits I had lying around.  I made a sample Lotus cami from the turquoise, and an Amy Butler Chelsea bag from the pink/green/aqua.

I won’t go too much into tips, etc, because I’m running this as a class next month.  It’s all a part of my evil plan to combine work and Christmas present sewing.  I made a list of simple projects I’d like to make for presents, then set up classes in the months leading up to Christmas.  I make the samples for the class, work out the kinks; after it’s over I can gift the samples.  Genius.

For my neice, who is two.  When I make presents for someone, I spend the majority of the time I’m working thinking about them.  I think that’s why this dolly has a blond head.

Lila’s.  She played and played with Freya, despite the fact she had no wings and one arm.  Lila looked unimpressed when I left Freya at work, despite my assurances she could have her back later. 

It’s tricky to make a sample, you can’t deviate too much from the pattern but I still like to show what can be done.

In this case, I made the two slightly different- angles on the skirts, hair positions, eye and mouth color, shape of the eyes.  For the record, I appliqued the face instead of gluing and used basic satin stitches on my machine for the embroidery.  I expect these dolls will see some action, we can’t have their faces falling off.  Glue? 

Notice the cheeky off-kilter smile?  It’s in the original pattern that way, and was much easier to line up than some perfectly symmetrical smile.

I’m toying (ha) with making at least two more of these for a certain two young misses in Britain who will be enjoying their first Christmas this year.   I’d like to make another one of scraps from favorite projects over the year…


2 comments


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

