Finished Object: Blueberry Parfait

 (Blueberry Parfait.  Yum.)

What a relief.  Pull a pattern from the envelope, trace it off, cut it out, stitch it up and it fits?  That’s it?

I had doubts, I measured and even wrote to Sarai, who creates the patterns.  I didn’t have to change a thing.

With no pattern alterations to attend, I needed something else to make it harder.  Why not a self-fabric bodice lining, as seen in nice RTW dresses?  Of course!

I used a lightweight fusible cotton on the midriff, straps, and around the top of the bodice.  When I took apart the prom dress a few weeks ago, I discovered a lining/interfacing technique that doesn’t require interfacing the entire bodice.  My prom dress had a facing cut from fusible woven, ironed and stitched on the inside top edge of the bodice lining.

I did the same thing.  I cut the facing pieces from interfacing only, then fused them to the top edge of the bodice lining.   When I went to stitch it down, I thought “why use a straight stitch when I can get away with a decorative one?”  It took longer, but I like the result.  Pretty linings are my favorite.

Pink cotton voile skirt lining, frothy white lace on the hem.  Most of my skirts are lined; most of those have lace.  I like a little inside whimsy, keeps a skip in my step all day long.

This whole dress kind of makes me want to skip and play.  I’d call the color “happiness;” ever since I took it out of the dyebath, I smile when I see it.   Color seldom affects me this much.  I dyed the organic cotton and the linen in the same bath, I love how different fibres take dye.

When making a lined dress, I usually make two great dresses then combine them into one super fantastic dress.  That’s more or less what I did here.  I stitched the straps to the exterior after it was all assembled, put in the zipper, and then stitched the lining in from the end of the zipper up around the top of the dress and down the other side of the zipper, securing everything tidily.

If I can’t find a zipper that matches exactly, I go for a contrast.  This matches the skirt lining.  The pattern clearly states the top edges should be sewn together, the zipper goes under that little seam.  I can see why, the edges come together at this point on the dress at a funny angle.  It would be easy to make a mess here.

I used this half circle skirt because I adore it and I promised Janine I’d use it wherever I could:

Janine’s the one in the green.

I left off the pockets because they didn’t look right.  It’s a shame, they’re such dear little pockets.  I’ll probably stitch them together for a little Lila purse.

Speaking of, she kept arranging herself in front of the tripod:

I think I have enough of the linen left over to make her a Tea Party dress.  We’ll match.

I’m pleased with the dress, it is just the level of cool and casual I’m striving for in my wardrobe.  I could wear it to work sometimes and not be under dressed, and I like that it isn’t skimpy.   I’m not sure I like it as a pinafore, though.  It doesn’t work for me.  I’ll try it again with the next blouse I finish, but I think this will be my “free choice” item in the contest- a standalone dress.

The hem is a little flippy on one side, and I can’t make the invisible zipper 100% invisible at the waist seam.  Should I keep trimming and pressing?

This is a great pattern, I know I’ll be hitting Colette up for more patterns soon.   If you routinely do FBAs and “sway back*” alterations, these patterns will be a revelation.  If you’re on the thinner side, or never do FBA’s, you’ll have to play with the pattern to get it to fit.

By the way, my attire outdoors in the dead of winter speaks volumes about the climate.  Sure, I had goosebumps, but no frostbite in my new sundress!

Pattern Review

*What a misnomer.  The more I fit, the more I think that juicier backsides need the same sort of alteration as a FBA.  I call it a FBuA. 


20 comments

  1. Delicious! Both the parfait and your dress! It looks fantastic on you. Wow–that beautiful outdoor scene is your winter? What–no snow?

  2. The plants are evergreen here, one of the weird things that gets me down sometimes… Thanks, ladies. It's a really fun pattern to put together, can't recommend it enough.

  3. This is such a pretty dress and a lovely colour as well! I used to really dislike linen, but after making a blouse last summer, I think I will start using it more often. I like the idea of a contrast zip. I normally buy as close a colour as I can get and then paint the zipper pull with a matching nail polish. Your idea is a lot more fun!

  4. Aw, your little one is adorable! She'd look so cute in a matching dress. :) She's going to wind up a camera ham with all these photo shoots happening!I want to steal this dress, even though I know it won't fit me. I think I said it before, but your finishing inside is beautiful! I'm amazed you didn't have to do any alterations to this dress pattern! I've been intrigued by Colette patterns for a while now (I want their Lady Grey jacket!), but I didn't even look twice at this dress until now.

  5. It looks amazing – I love the skirt, I can't imagine it any other way. (It's actually somewhat straight, right?) And the color is perfect. I understand your cold summer despair, that is too much green. Even in Florida growing up we had some fall color. And please do the matching dress! Emily is begging me for mother-daughter outfits and I don't want to be the only one!

  6. I'm glad its ok to do mother-daughter outfits. Reminds me of making dresses for me, my sister, and my dolly when I was younger. Thanks for all the kind words, everyone. :)

  7. Pingback: Finished Object: Jasmine (Revolutionary Road) Dress « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  8. Pingback: New Developments in Silk and iDyeing « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  9. Pingback: Working With (And Against) Linen « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  10. Pingback: Time Out to Sew a Summer Dress « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  11. Pingback: Organic Cotton- Because It Feels Divine « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  12. “…juicier backsides…” = So. Much. Better. than “sway back.” You’ve boosted my self-esteem today. :)

    FBuA indeed!


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

