Note to Self: Make this Jacket


I know, I know, I’m already knee-deep in a project to make four pieces for my husband this month. That’s all going swell. I just want to put this picture up so I don’t lose sight of it. I’ve wanted to make husband a nice jacket for a while, we both like this. I’d make it in the nicest fabric I can get my little mitts on. Probably midnight blue or dark gray, I could do black as well.

On the subject of coats have you seen Cupcake Goddess’ review of Colette’s Lady Grey Coat? Di-vine. I hadn’t looked twice at the pattern until I saw that review. Now I am obsessed. I need it in a gorgeous dark bottle green. I’ve wanted to make a bottle green overcoat for a long time, and now I have a pattern in mind.

I will want full length sleeves, but that’s easy enough to change. I’m not sure yet, but I may make the collar of fur. I discovered an ethical fur racket- New Zealand possum cull fur. North Americans, please note that Antipodean possums look something like this-

(Awww, a sweet Aussie possum)

(Get Back, Demon Possum! New Zealand Department of Conservation)

They range wildly in colors, and the fur is incredibly soft. I’d never hurt one here in Australia (even when one invaded my house late one summer night through an open window and sat on my sleeping husband’s chest and generally scared the bejangas out of us). They were introduced to New Zealand by some idiot 150 years ago. The problem is, they don’t have any natural predators in New Zealand. They utterly demolish native flora as well as prey on endangered eggs and chicks. They also spread bovine tuberculosis. They are pests. The government’s answer is a cull, and the pelts to be made into useful things from yarn (just gorgeous, like knitting pre-felted yarn) to duvet stuffing to pelts to boots.

I have to say, I’m intrigued. Fur collars on coats are so 1920’s.


2 comments

  1. Mmmm….loving the overcoat. And yes please, do take all of our New Zealand possums. They are evil devil animals that destroy everything in their path, and must be eradicated. And for the record, I'm vegetarian and I'll still wear possum fur!

  2. Ugg possums. We had some in our attic for a long time, keeping me awake.I think the coat will look nice with a fur collar…


Is it kind, useful or interesting? Great!

